Papers Reports Reviews

How we Invest White Paper - Investment Manager Selection and Monitoring

Posted On: Friday, 28 August 2015

By Paul Gregory and Chris Jagger, Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation, August 2015. This paper provides an insight into how investment managers fit into the Fund’s overall investment process.

How We Invest White paper - 2015 Reference Portfolio

Posted On: Sunday, 2 August 2015

The Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation (Guardians), the investment manager of the New Zealand Superannuation Fund (NZSF or the Fund), has adopted a reference portfolio approach since 2010. A reference portfolio approach is first and foremost a governance construct designed to facilitate clear decision making and accountability of decisions. The Guardians has undertaken to review the composition of the Fund’s Reference Portfolio at least once every five years and concluded such a review in the first half of the 2015 calendar year. This paper provides a summary of the 2015 Reference Portfolio review.

Stakeholder research reports

Posted On: Wednesday, 22 July 2015

In late 2014, the Guardians commissioned independent research company Colmar Brunton to undertake stakeholder engagement research on our behalf. The research measured stakeholders’ perceptions of the Guardians' activities and performance, and how well we are connecting and working with our external business partners.

Colmar Brunton undertook two pieces of research:

- qualitative, 1:1 interviews with senior stakeholders; and

- a quantitative survey of a wide group of Guardians and Fund stakeholders.

We value the feedback and views provided, and will use the reports to help improve our performance and external relationships.

For further information: Catherine Etheredge, Head of Communications, 64 274 777 501, [email protected].  

Global Investor - Liquidity issues in an institutional portfolio context

Posted On: Thursday, 28 May 2015

An interview with New Zealand Super Fund Chief Executive Adrian Orr. The article was published in Global Investor magazine, published by Credit  Suisse and can be found on Page 26.  

Papers on long-term investment published

Posted On: Wednesday, 18 March 2015

A white paper prepared with insights from the New Zealand Superannuation Fund and an essay by New Zealand Superannuation Fund Chief Executive Adrian Orr have been published in association with the Focusing Capital on the Long Term initiative, of which the Fund is a member. Both works address the benefits of sustainable long-term investing and the paper also provides practical guidance for the design, benchmarking and evaluation of investment portfolios oriented to the long term.

 

2014 Independent Review by Promontory Financial Group

Posted On: Wednesday, 22 October 2014

An independent review of how effectively and efficiently the Guardians are performing their function is carried out every five years, as required by the New Zealand Superannuation and Retirement Income Act 2001. This review, the third to be conducted, was undertaken by Promontory Financial Group in 2014. Reviews were previously carried out in 2009 and 2004.

How We Invest White Paper - The Advantages of Being a Long-Term Investor

Posted On: Tuesday, 30 September 2014

By Sue Brake and Rishab Sethi, Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation, September 2014. This paper summarises one of series of internal Guardians discussion workshops.

How We Invest White Paper - Diversification

Posted On: Tuesday, 30 September 2014

By Joe Cheung, Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation, September 2014. This paper summarises one of a series of internal Guardians discussion workshops.

How We Invest White Paper - Investment Manager Skill

Posted On: Tuesday, 30 September 2014

By Paul Gregory and Tim Mitchell, Guardians of New Zealand Superannuation, September 2014. This paper summarises one of a series of internal Guardians discussion workshops.

2004 Independent Review by Jonathan Eriksen

Posted On: Thursday, 21 August 2014

The New Zealand Superannuation and Retirement Income Act 2001 requires the Minister of Finance to periodically appoint an independent reviewer to review how efficiently and effectively the Guardians is performing its functions.

The Minister of Finance sets the terms of reference for the review in accordance with Section 71 of the Act. Reviews are conducted at intervals that are no more than 5 years apart.

The first independent review of the Guardians was completed in August 2004 by Jonathan Eriksen.